Artist

My flute is golden,
my tie multi-coloured.
My audience is riveted.
‘audire’ – ‘to hear’,
to listen to me.

My flute is golden.
My lips are oh-so soft,
my breath gentle-firm.
‘firmus’ – ‘strong’,
feel me!

But then, from the corners of my half-shut eyes
I see:
That one is whispering
into that other one’s ear.
And that other one
is laughing
with screwed-up face.

The way you do when
the joke’s not on you.
Clearly, I see:
Their joke is on me.
Ah well, they have never liked me,
those two.
Probably don’t even play an instrument.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

