Pantoum: The Ford

Abort, then focus. Try once more.
It is the only way I know
Of trying to reach the other shore,
Of coping with a sudden blow.

It is the only way I know
And still of course I am afraid
Of coping with a sudden blow
While I stagger on and wade.

And still of course I am afraid:
The next slip – fall – may be the last
While I stagger on and wade.
I wish there was a boat, a mast.

The next slip – fall – may be the last!
A deck to stand on would be good.
I wish there was a boat, a mast;
Less mud beneath my feet, more wood.

A deck to stand on would be good.
Some little ground to make a plan.
Less mud beneath my feet, more wood
Would mean I was no frontiersman.

Some little ground to make a plan
Of trying to reach the other shore
Would mean I was no frontiersman.
Abort, then. Focus. Try once more.

This entry was posted in Kallis Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pantoum: The Ford

  1. hey-hey ~ I see you! And not only if I think I can! 🙂 Smashing Pantoum sir 🙂

  2. I have SO been struggling with failure and bad news lately. I think I am handling bad news MUCH better now that I am older and eliminated some drama from my life. I am working towards a goal and every day I know I get closer to it but. It’s hard and I am SO glad you shared this poem it calms my alienation! I will be rereading it!

  3. Balz says:

    Some start jogging, some write poem. Mid life crisis? Some without, some with talent. Not bad.

Leave a Reply

